A LITTLE PIECE OF HISTORY
The Old Stagecoach Inn was purposefully built around 1882, to accommodate those using the railway station.
Because there was already a railway tavern in the town, it was named the Queen's Hotel, in homage to Queen Victoria. The inns first licensees were George Rugg and John Slade of Somerset Trading Ltd, a subsidary of Bradford & Sons, who owned the land. As a former Posting House, horses were kept in stables at the rear of the hotel and available for hire to add to the strength of visiting teams of horses, leading coaches and wagons, to help them negotiate the steep hills around Crewkerne. When the inn was sold in 1981, its registered owners were Palmers Brewery in Bridport.
In 1993, the owner of the Queen's Hotel, Rene Van Der Ende changed its name to the Old Stagecoach Inn. Another former owner and licensee Anton Jordi and his wife Deloris, put the inn well and truly on the world map, by hosting an annual gathering of the Moto Guzzi. The Italian motorbike enthusiasts enjoyed their stay in Crewkerne with many camping in tents in a field across the road from the inn. Anton, who was also known for his unique range of Belgian malt and fruit beers, sold the business in March 2010, when he retired from the hospitality trade.